July Msiza

July Msiza


Mr. Mlayedwa July Msiza, President of SANTACO and Provincial Chairperson of SANTACO in Mpumalanga, is an accomplished entrepreneur whose roots are in Avontuur. Typically, he came to Pretoria in 1976 where he was employed in the Construction industry for two years, a skill he has not lost to-date.

In 1976 he worked in the construction industry for two years – a skill he hasn’t lost to-date. He joined the taxi industry as a driver employed by his elder brother and in 1981, bought his very first taxi that he drove himself.

In 1983 he was elected into office at the formation of the first committee of the first taxi association to exist in KwaNdebele. In 1985 he was elected Secretary of the association and then seconded to the South African Black Taxi Association’s (SABTA’s) Management Council under the leadership of the veteran, Mr. Paradise Mahlangu who was chairman of the Transvaal Taxi Association at the time. In 1992 he was made deputy chairman of TTA and in the same year he became the first General Secretary of Region 16 of SABTA.

In 1993 he resigned his positions in the taxi industry to go into farming and concentrate on his retail businesses which were spread in and around KwaNdebele. This was short-lived as in 1998 he was recruited back into the taxi industry leadership during the democratization of the taxi industry. When four associations in KwaNdebele were amalgamated in the year 2000, he was at the helm of this group.

In 2001, at the first democratic elections of the Mpumalanga Provincial Taxi Council, he took the position of the Head of Grievances and Dispute Resolution. He was seconded to the National Conference Preparatory Committee and served as a member of the Constitution Drafting Team. In September 2001 at the first National Conference of SANTACO held in Durban, he was elected as National Coordinator.

At the second democratic elections of the Mpumalanga Province in 2005, he was elected Chairperson and thereby became a member of the National Executive Committee at SANTACO. In 2007 he became a National Office Bearer wherein he served as a National Training officer, a position that enabled him to serve on the board of the Transport Education Authority (TETA) until 2010.

At the 3rd elective conference of SANTACO in Sun City during 2010, he retained his position as an NOB member albeit in the capacity of 1st Deputy President. In 2011, he was appointed President of SANTACO a position he occupies to-date.

Previous articleJabulani Mthembu
Next articlePhillip Taaibosch